ECONOMIC AND EMPLOYMENT OUTLOOK FOR DALLAS IN 2012

Jobs have not come streaming rapidly into Dallas overnight and Dallas has lagged other major U.S. cities in wage growth. In a report from Pay Scale, Inc. Dallas wages grew only 0.7% IN 2011. It’s true that Dallas is still below job growth levels of 2009 with only .01% in 2011 compared to Houston’s 2.2 %. However, there are some …

Dallas Fort Worth Area IMA Spring CPE Conference

March 30, 2012, Hosted by the Dallas Fort Worth Area IMA and University of North Texas at Dallas Location: University of North Texas at Dallas, 7400 University Hills Blvd., Dallas, 75241 (map) Parking: Free (permit will be provided at the registration table on the day of the event) Schedule: 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, registration begins at 8:30 AM Program: …

Upcoming Free Job Seeker Training Webinars:

Is Social Media Hurting Your Search? November 18th @ 9:00 AM PST/10:00 AM MST/11:00 AM CST/12:00 PM EST Employers often check your Social Media presence before they schedule an interview and almost always before they extend a job offer. During this session you will learn: • What does your Social Media presence say about you? • How can you improve …

NOTE FROM YOUR CAREER ADVISOR

No One Calling You Back? It can be very frustrating not to be called back. However, there could be a valid reason. Too often you call and ask for information that is important to you. The hiring authority does not see the benefit to them to call you back. Rather than asking for an update, offer to provide them with …

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT

It’s time to review your job search activities in the past three months. You can learn from your failures as much as your successes. Consider the following questions: 1.    How many hours do you spend on your job search each day? 2.    Have you set minimum daily standards for your search? 3.    Do you accomplish these standards each day? 4.    How many hiring authorities …

A NOTE FROM YOUR CAREER ADVISOR

What Differentiates You From Other Job Seekers? You must know and be able to communicate the answer to this question in order to receive job offers. Imagine for a moment that you are up against two other job seekers who have the same education, experience and expertise that you possess. Why should someone hire you? These factors are also considered …